01604 422700 [email protected] Mon - Fri: 8:00am - 6:00pm

Know Which Mot Test Course Is Suitable For You

Depending on your current abilities and competencies in the MOT sector, you can choose from a variety of MOT test courses. MOT classes are divided into eight categories. A qualified mechanic must have a recognised qualification or accreditation to test class 3,4,5 or 7 automobiles to meet the standards. Several MOT training centres will provide a level 3 Light Vehicle Technician (LVI) certification to help you get started in the MOT industry. This course will teach you how to identify vehicle engines and electrical problems.

To become a licenced MOT Tester, you must obtain a Level 2 Award in MOT Testing for the necessary vehicle classes and pass an MOT Demonstration test at a VTS. In partnership with the DVSA, MOT Testers will be provided with the required skills and competence to run MOT Vehicle Test Centres. The MOT Test Centre Management Award is given on an ongoing basis. You will be considered professionally competent for the rest of your life once you have acquired your certification. It depends entirely on your specific needs and present skill set to determine which MOT test Course you should take to flourish in the MOT Industry.

A detailed MOT test class reference will tell you which category your vehicle belongs in, as well as what types of cars are covered in each class (GOV.UK). Additionally, vehicles are divided into two groups: Group A (class 1 and 2 vehicles) and Group B (class 4 and 7 vehicles). As an MOT Tester, you must know and have a valid and current UK driver's licence for the vehicle classes you intend to test.

At the MOT Northampton training facility, we offer a plethora of courses

• ATA Light Vehicle Inspection Technician.

• Level 2 Award in MOT Testing Classes 4 & 7.

• Level 2 Award in MOT Classes 1 & 2.

• Level 3 Award in MOT Test Centre Management Course. 

• Hybrid Vehicle Training.

• MOT Annual Refresher Training (CPD).

• Class 5 MOT Training.

In addition to meeting the requirements to work as an MOT Tester, Light Vehicle Technician, or MOT Center Manager, you must possess the following fundamental abilities.

• Solid vehicle Maintainance knowledge.

• Problem Solving Skills.

• Team working.

• Customer relationship skills.

• Basic IT knowledge.

• Attention to detail.

• Self Initiative.

These fundamental competencies will aid your professional path in the MOT sector. As an authorised MOT training centre, we advise using our online assessment tool to determine your readiness for the Level 3 Light Vehicle Inspection Technician exam. We will also provide you with suggested learning and annual assessments. If you require any assistance to know whether your current competencies match up with the Level 2 competencies, help yourself to attempt our online assessment tool or contact our MOT Northampton office for any enquiries.

You might qualify for Level 2 MOT Testing training if you possess the following.

• For at least four years, you must have worked as a full-time mechanic, maintaining and repairing the types of vehicles you will be evaluating.

• For the vehicle classes you intend to test, you must have a current and valid UK driver's licence.

• Being "of good reputation"—the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency will determine if you are qualified to be an MOT tester—having no criminal convictions that have not yet been served.

You must complete your annual exam after receiving MOT Testing certification to keep your position as a competitive MOT tester. Additionally, you are accountable for planning, executing, monitoring, and documenting your training. The MOT Test Centre Management Level 3 Award course does not require any prior knowledge. You should have some expertise and experience in the industry, though.