01604 422700 [email protected] Mon - Fri: 8:00am - 6:00pm

How to know which MOT Course is best suitable to you

How to know which MOT Course is best suitable for you

There are many different MOT training courses to choose from, depending on your present abilities and competencies in the MOT sector. There are eights categories of MOT classes to consider. To meet the requirements, a competent mechanic must have a recognised certification or accreditation to test class 3,4,5 or 7 vehicles. To assist you in getting started in the MOT profession, several MOT training institutes will grant a level 3 Light Vehicle Technician (LVI) certification. This course will improve your skills to diagnose engine and electrical faults in automobiles. Later, you must get a Level 2 Award in MOT Testing to the relevant vehicle classes to become an authorised MOT Tester and perform an MOT Demonstration test at a VTS. Also, in collaboration with the DVSA to provide MOT Testers with the necessary skills and expertise to run MOT Vehicle Test Centres. The MOT Test Centre Management Award is perpetual. Once you've earned your certification, you'll be considered professionally competent for the rest of your life. It entirely depends on the individual requirements and current skillset to know which MOT Course you need to choose to excel in the MOT Industry.
Our comprehensive reference to MOT test classes will tell you which category your vehicle belongs in, as well as what sorts of vehicles are covered in each class (GOV.UK)
• Class 1 – Motorcycles with an engine capacity of up to 200cc with or without sidecars.
• Class 2 – Motorcycles with an engine capacity over 200cc with or without sidecars.
• Class 3 – three-wheel vehicles up to 450kg unladen.
• Class 4 – Three-wheel vehicles over 450 kg unladen weight, cars up to 8 passenger seats, motor caravans, dual-purpose vehicles, private hire and public service vehicles, ambulances, taxis, and goods vehicles up to 3000kg.
• Class 4a – Vehicles with 9 to 12 passenger seats with a seat belt installation check.
• Class 5 – Playbuses, private passenger vehicles and ambulances with or more than 16 passenger seats.
• Class 5a – Vehicles with a seat belt installation check with more than 16 passenger seats.
• Class 7 – Goods vehicles over 3000 kg and up to 3500kg.
Furthermore, vehicles are categorised into Group A with class 1 and 2 vehicles and Group B with Class 4 and 7 vehicles. As an MOT Tester, it is essential to know and possess a valid and current UK driver's licence for the vehicle classes you wish to test. Apart from the eligibility criteria to become an MOT Tester or Light Vehicle Technician or an MOT Centre Manager, you need to have the following essential skills
• Ability to operate, maintain, and repair equipment and tools.
• Take note of the details.
• Possessing problem-solving abilities.
• Your ability to take charge
• The ability to work cooperatively with others.
• Skills in customer service
• Ability to operate a computer effectively.
• Expertise in the field of automotive and motor mechanics.
These essential competencies are helpful and support your career journey in the MOT industry. As an authorised MOT training centre, we recommend using our online assessment tool to know if you're ready to take a Level 3 Light Vehicle Inspection Technician and will suggest to you the duration of your learning and assessments.
Alternatively, if you have the following, you may be eligible for the Level 2 training in MOT Testing
• You must have been a skilled mechanic who has worked full-time for at least four years maintaining and repairing the sorts of automobiles you'll be testing.
• You must possess a valid and current UK driver's licence for the vehicle classes you wish to test.
• having no felony convictions that have not yet been served
• To be 'of good reputation' – the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency will assess if you're qualified to be an MOT tester.
After MOT Testing certification, to remain competitive as an MOT tester, you need to complete your annual assessment and pass the assessment. Also, you’re responsible for preparing and carrying out your training, maintaining track of your training and keeping records of it. There are no prerequisites for taking the MOT Test Centre Management Level 3 Award course. However, it is recommended that you have some industry knowledge and experience.